The Big (Probably Not Shocking) Reveal

Today I put in my two weeks notice at work, which means that something awesome is about to happen. I’ve been waiting months for this.

I’m going back to Europe.

I’m sure that this is in no way a shock to most of you. Some have known since before I set foot back in Canada. The plan is to leave on a working holiday visa on the 15th-ish and stay for the year.

Essentially, the working holiday visa I’ve applied for will let me stay in Belgium for a year, working for fifty per cent of my stay. I’ll be staying with my boyfriend’s family for the year and will be job searching once I get settled. I’m currently waiting for my visa to be approved (which I’m told that it should be approved), but I have a couple backup plans in case my original falls through.

This trip is about a lot of things. It’s about being with the guy I love, but its also about finding myself and my place in the world. The last trip opened my eyes to some of the things I wanted in my life and to things I needed to strive for. This trip is my chance to build my confidence, learn about the world and expand my horizons. It’s also about getting to spend time with people that I’ve gotten to know over the last year. I’ve had the pleasure of getting to know some amazing people from Europe and am really looking forward to spending more time with them. They’ve welcomed me into their lives and have made incredible efforts to include me in activities, even helping me translate when I’m feeling a bit lost. I feel very fortunate that I have people who are excited to see me and am looking forward to everything we have planned. We don’t have the whole year planned, but there are some really exciting things happening. There’s a birthday party in Gent. There’s a wedding outside of London (which means I’ll be demanding to go to Daunt Bookstore again). Six of us are going to Spain in July on a week holiday to a resort in Lloret de Mar. A group of us are going to Paris for the weekend for the League of Legends Allstar Games. I hope to go to Norway to see the northern lights and the fjords. If I’m really lucky, I’ll be able to knock Athens and Rome from my must see list, but I may be getting carried away. I also intend on exploring the sights closer to home, like Flanders fields and the dozens of other things I passed up the first time.

In between all of the exploring and the working, I intend on sorting myself out. I’ll have ample time to work on my hobbies and hopefully to discover what I’m passionate about. I’ve spent years doing things that others have told me I’m good at, only to discover that I don’t love them the way some people love their jobs. I hope that a year away will help me find out what I really love.

There are still a lot of things to work out, but my this time next month I’ll be ready to head out. I have a laundry list of things to do before I go and am excited to get started! WEEE!!!

Today-was-a-2mkomu

Categories: Uncategorized | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “The Big (Probably Not Shocking) Reveal

  1. sharon herrington

    that sounds so exciting catherine good for you hope you have a amazing time keep us posted take care

  2. Wow, super for you! You can ask Aimée to help to search for a

  3. sorry, to help to search for a job! Gooed luck!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

