One small gesture.

I’ve been having one of those weeks. My life isn’t exactly falling apart, but I’m not happy with it. I’m still trying to figure out my place in the world after three months away and it’s exhausting.  Today during my lunch break I found myself texting my boyfriend and saying “I could really use some good news.”

As I’m getting ready for bed, I move some stuff on the table and lo and behold, I have mail! I never get mail. I open it up and it’s a Christmas card from an old friend. She’s someone I see a lot less often than I’d like, but think about often. Inside the card it says:

“Merry Christmas to one of the bravest, most ambitious ladies I know (even if you don’t feel like it everyday – you are!)”

And I cried.

After feeling extremely, definitively un-brave and un-ambitious for a long ass time, this hit me like a ton of bricks. Someone out there sees qualities in me that I felt I had lost. This was the news I was waiting for, the perfectly timed brilliance that the world seems to pull off every once in a while. The wake up call that says “Hey. Maybe you’re the one who’s seeing things backward.”

This card is going up where I can see it everyday, somewhere where I can remind myself that not only are things not that bad, but that I’m my own worst critic. It’s amazing how such a little gesture can make all the difference in the world.

Thank you.

Categories: Personal | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “One small gesture.

  1. pj

    See…ya just never know where your inspiration will come from….love it and you too of course
    Auntie PJ xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

