243 days

Today is the 20th, which marks eight months since the day I stood in an airport with no clue how it was going to change my life. I’ve never been the kind of girl to count the months or get overly publicly emotional, but I guess that’s just another way my life has changed. Sometimes you just meet someone worth counting for.

IMAG0488

I’ve gotten a lot of questions about being in a long distance relationship. Primarily the question is “why?” The answer is simple. I’m tired of settling. I’ve met someone who is willing to fly 4955 km to be with me. I’ve met someone who has pulled strings to get my favourite band to sign a vinyl record for me so that he can travel to another town to pick it up while he’s sick. I’ve met someone who will take me into his home and promise me the most amazing summer of my life without asking anything is return. Why would I settle for less than that ever again?

IMAG0229

Yes, the distance can be hard. Sometimes all you want is some version of physical comfort, a shoulder to cry on or a hug to welcome you home. Instead of being physical, you learn to talk. You talk about your hopes and dreams, the places you’ve been, the things you’ve seen. You have to learn to trust them to do right by you. You have to know how to talk things out and to communicate. You have to learn how to fight properly. You have to be in touch almost everyday, even if only for a moment. You have to learn to live with the fact that they’ll eat supper while you’re eating lunch and going to bed before you can get home from work.

Is the distance worth it? Absolutely. I still have someone amazing who is often waiting for me when I get home. He just happens to be on the other side of a screen. I could try and spend my time justifying why I have so much faith in this man, but people who don’t have faith won’t understand anyway. What I will say is that sometimes you just know, and to the very best of my ability to know anything, I know this boy loves me.

DSC02763

Eight months isn’t all that long when you’re looking at numbers, but it feels like so much longer than that. This time next month, we’ll be celebrating together in the Netherlands at a theme park. Not every day is a blast but the experience is worth the wait.

Safe Travels friends!

Categories: Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “243 days

  1. ”You learn to talk” so very very true! Unfortunately so many close distance relationships go so fast that they crash and burn. Being so far away primarily proves that if you didn’t really really want it, you would not be doing it! A perfect saying for long distance relationships is ” it’s not how much time you spend with the person, but the quality of time you spend with them”..And online time still counts as time, a text message, a message, a package in the mail..all little things that are so much more heartfelt than ”let’s hang out tonight”. You certainly learn to appreciate the time you spend together!
    Chin up my little nerdling, only a short time left! 🙂 It is worth the wait!

    • catrector

      All very true! And it’s amazing the way you find normal things to do that seem extremely special. You find ways around the space, like webcam sleepovers and syncing up a movie. Most times people think of a long distance relationship as simply limiting, but it opens up a world of new experiences as well!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

