Taking the plunge

I didn’t write this last night because instead of writing, I drank the better part of a bottle of wine. Yesterday I did something absolutely life changing.

I bought my plane ticket. 

My itinerary is sitting on my desk, staring me in the face. I am actually flying to Europe to stay for three months.

If I’m being completely honest, I’m both elated and terrified. I’ve never been this far away from home. I’ve never been out of the country. I don’t remember the one time I was on a plane as a child. The last time I spent that kind of money, I bought my car. I will have to navigate the Montreal and Brussels airports by myself. I’m going to be living somewhere that English is not an official language and fits the entire population of Canada into a place the size of my province. This is why I’m nervous.

Most of those reasons are also why I’m excited. These are experiences people dream all their lives about having and I actually get to do it! I get to have an adventure with my European boyfriend, travel and just not worry about anything (although I will worry because it’s in my blood). I’m a lucky girl, and once the slight wine headache dies down, I’ll be a lot more excited about it all.

In related news, we’re thinking about altering our idea of going to Greece, because it’s so much cheaper to go many other places. As much as I would love to, this is a budget vacation. On the very short and unresearched list is Rome, Venice and Oslo. Anyone else have suggestions for a nice side trip in Europe?

Categories: Long Distance Relationship, Love, Travel | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Taking the plunge

  1. Good luck! And congratulations on taking the plunge!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

