Moving in with Mother

You know those things you swear you’ll never do again? This week I did one of those things.

A couple years ago I went through a crazy break up and decided to move home. That’s right, with my parents. After I moved back out, I swore I would never go back. I love my family, but I love my independence just as much. This week I moved back in.

It’s hard for me to admit that. I have a lot of pride about my ability to fend for myself. I’ve been in situations where I must either ask for help or eat Kraft Dinner for a month and picked the Kraft Dinner. I can cook, clean, pay my bills and carry my own groceries. This time however, I bit the bullet for the greater good.

My original plan was to move in with some very good friends of mine. I was so distracted by my boyfriend’s visit that I wasn’t paying attention to the dwindling bank account staring me in the face. Worried that my bank account wouldn’t survive the expenses of living on my own again, I took my other option.

There are a lot of pros and cons to this little adventure. On the bright side, I get to spend time with my family, don’t have to pay for much of anything and am surrounded by support for my current adventure. On the not so bright side, my family and I don’t always get along, most of my things are in storage and my room is teeeeenie tiny. It’s also orange, but I try not to hold that against it.
Image The biggest advantages of this move revolve around the trip. I have the chance to save more than double the money for the trip. This means more trips to the fritkot, more thrift shopping and more adventures! It also forces me to reassess my possessions  I’ve been very determined to downsize and based on the sheer amount of boxes I had to move this week, I’m more determined than ever. In May we’re going to have a yard sale and get rid of all this extra weight. It’s just a bonus that that money will go right into my Euro fund.

After getting over my hurt pride, things don’t look so bad. Today marks 80 days until I leave home and I get more excited all of the time. I should, however, hit the sack, as morning waits for no one!

Happy travels friends!

Categories: Love, Travel | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

